Hacking in Vala

In order to get up and running with the Vala Programming Language , which has hopelessly little documentation and resources, I tried writing a test project in Vala and GTK+. From the Wikipedia definition of Vala as “a programming language created with the goal of bringing modern language features to C” , I was expected some kind of GObject based version of C++. But I received a pleasant surprise. Vala’s syntax and features are more like C# and it compiles to good old unmanaged code not all that .NET Managed stuff, which made GTK# so annoying.
I also found that the language was , overall, quite productive and convenient to work with. The test “snake” game I made in Vala and GTK+ was up and running in less than a day. I also liked the compiler which was quite easy to use,
literally all it took was the command:

valac –pkg gtk+-2.0 mysource.vala mysecondsource.vala …

It was also nice to see that my source compiled successfully without any changes or any extra “porting” code on both Windows and Ubuntu. In fact, I was so pleased with the end result that I hosted it, here are the download links to both versions:

Windows Version

Ubuntu Version

I also took screenshots:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, I found Vala to be a pretty good and productive language. Especially if you are working with the GTK+ Toolkit.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lloyd irvin
    May 03, 2013 @ 02:56:35

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However
    I am encountering issues with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having identical RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    Reply

  2. Gay
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 01:13:03

    If some one wants to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be pay a quick visit this web
    site and be up to date everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Community

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

