Curiosity Rover’s Diary – Entry 1

11872894_1164699460210701_1975055197_n

SOL 0 – August 6, 2012

I have finally landed in Gale Crater, on the fiery and desolate Martian surface, 8 Months 11 Days after my launch from the planet Earth. My mission is clear. I am an explorer. The species that created me is a race of explorers. After emerging from Africa, they explored their home planet from pole to pole. From the peaks of the Himalayas to the bottom of the Pacific Ocean. I am to be their emissary to this alien world, the Red Planet. Fourth planet from the Sun. Known for its harsh climate but also for its similarity to its neighbor, Earth, the home of the humans.

My name is Curiosity. The force that drives me, too, is curiosity. A passionate curiosity that makes humans hunger to discover the wonders of the Cosmos.

SOL 2 – August 8, 2012

I’m still in the location I landed in. Today I sent my first pictures of the beautiful Martian surface, my new home.

Look, you can see my shadow in this one. A shadow selfie! The second one shows the Martian sky and horizon.

Those hills look nice, don’t they? I hope to send a lot more pictures. I have an entire planet left to explore, after all…. and did I mention I have a really cool selfie cam? This is going to be so much fun.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

